mainnav_head
title_homepage
clippings
I'm looking for some tips
Hey guys, I'm new to this forum and I want to ask your advice on photographing sport and motion pictures.
I'm just a beginner in the field of photography, but never the less I'm using only manual features in my camera, which is Fuji FinePix 5500.

There was a Judo tournament last saturday and I shot some motion pictures, but they came out too blurry... What can I do to make them better?

judo1.jpg
judo_fight6.jpg
judo_fight11.jpg
judo_fight14.jpg
RE: I'm looking for some tips
My collegue Dee Suggests using High Sensitivity film, and Fast Shutter Speeds.
I always recommend a tri-pod, though it's not always easy to find a spot that you want to stick to in a sporting event.
Stefan (Administrator)
If you're shooting digitally, you can boost up your iso-levels; gaining more light-sensitivity.
The downside to this is that you'll get more and more digital noise as well.

Another way is to widen up your diaphragma (not sure if i spell it here correctly, it is the iris-like thing inside a lens). Close it you'll get razorsharp pictures all the way through, but you'll need a heck of a lot of light to do so.
Open it wide up you don't need alot of light, but you'll also have a huge loss of DOF.

Finally there is always the option to get a lens that is as light-sensitive as possible.

I'm fairly new to photographing moving objects as well though; my subjects (textures, objects) usually don't move that much. Wink A tripod or a steady spot to lean on is sufficient in that cases.

There are many good photography forums out there for if you really want to get to the bottom of this.
I can't name one though; the ones I visit are all in Dutch Very Happy
Tristan (Administrator)